Results from the 88th Annual Academy Awards

Related eBooks

Yesterday was the 88th Annual Academy Awards and there were several highlights of the night. One of the main focuses of the attention washost, Chris Rock’s, intense and questionable dialogue regarding racial issues and diversity. Arguably, the highlight of the night was Leonardo DiCaprio, finally, winning his long overdue Oscar, for his role in the revenant. DiCaprio dedicated his award to the idea of the ongoing concern over climate change. Mad Max: Fury Road also had a great night, sweeping up six awards.

Best Picture

The Big Short
Bridges of Spies
Mad Max: Fury Road
The Martian
The Revenant

Best Director

Alejandro G. Inarritu – The Revenant
Adam McKay – The Big Short
George Miller – Mad Max: Fury Road
Lenny Abrahamson – Room
Tom McCarthy – Spotlight

Best Actor

Bryan Cranston – Trumbo as Dalton Trumbo
Matt Damon – The Martian as Mark Watney
Michael Fassbender – Steve Jobs as Steve Jobs
Leonardo DiCaprio – The Revenant as Hugh Glass
Eddie Redmayne – The Danish Girl as Lili Elbe

Best Actress

Saoirse Ronan – Brooklyn as Ellis Lacey
Jennifer Lawrence – Joy as Joy Mangano
Brie Larson – Room as Joy “Ma” Newsome
Cate Blanchett – Carol as Carol Aird
Charlotte Rampling – 45 Years as Kate Mercer

Best Supporting Actor

Mark Rylance – Bridge of Spies as Rudolf Abel
Christian Bale – The Big Short as Michael Burry
Tom Hardy – The Revenant as John Fitzgerald
Mark Ruffalo – Spotlight as Michael Rezendes
Sylvester Stallone – Creed as Rocky Balboa

Best Supporting Actress

Jennifer Jason Leigh – The Hateful Eight as Daisy Domergue
Rooney Mara – Carol as Therese Belivet
Rachel McAdams – Spotlight as Sacha Pfeiffer
Alicia Vikander – The Danish Girl as Gerda Wegener
Kate Winslet – Steve Jobs as Joanna Hoffman

Best Original Screenplay

Spotlight – Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer
Bridge of Spies – Matt Charman, Ethan Coen, and Joel Coen
Ex Machina – Alex Garland
Inside Out – Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve, Josh Cooley, and Ronnie del Carmen
Straight Outta Compton – Jonathan Herman, Andrea Berloff, S. Leigh Savidge, and Alan Wenkus

Best Adapted Screenplay

The Big Short – Adam McKay and Charles Randolph from The Big Short by Michael Lewis
Brooklyn – Nick Hornby from Brooklyn by Colm Tóibín
Carol – Phyllis Nagy from The Price of Salt by Patricia Highsmith
The Martian – Drew Goddard from The Martian by Andy Weir
Room – Emma Donoghue from Room by Emma Donoghue

Best Animated Featured Film

Anomalisa – Charlie Kaufman, Duke Johnson, and Rosa Tran
Inside Out – Pete Docter and Jonas Rivera
Boy & the World – Alê Abreu
Shaun the Sheep Movie – Mark Burton and Richard Starzak
When Marnie Was There – Hiromasa Yonebayashi and Yoshiaki Nishimura

Best Foreign Language Film

Son of Saul (Hungary) in Hungarian – László Nemes
Embrace of the Serpent (Colombia) in Spanish – Ciro Guerra
Mustang (France) in Turkish – Deniz Gamze Ergüven
Theeb (Jordan) in Arabic – Naji Abu Nowar
A War (Denmark) in Danish – Tobias Lindholm

Best Documentary – Feature

Amy – Asif Kapadia and James Gay-Rees

Cartel Land – Matthew Heineman and Tom Yellin
The Look of Silence – Joshua Oppenheimer and Signe Byrge Sørensen
What Happened, Miss Simone? – Liz Garbus, Amy Hobby, and Justin Wilkes
Winter on Fire: Ukraine’s Fight for Freedom – Evgeny Afineevsky and Den Tolmor

Best Documentary – Short Subject

Body Team 12 – David Darg and Bryn Mooser
Chau, Beyond the Lines – Courtney Marsh and Jerry Franck
Claude Lanzmann: Spectres of the Shoah – Adam Benzine
Last Day of Freedom – Dee Hibbert-Jones and Nomi Talisman
A Girl in the River: The Price of Forgiveness – Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy

Best live Action Short Film

Ave Maria – Eric Dupont and Basil Khalil
Day One – Henry Hughes
Stutterer – Benjamin Cleary and Serena Armitage
Everything Will Be Okay – Patrick Vollrath
Shok – Jamie Donoughue

Best Animated Short Film

Bear Story – Pato Escala Pierart and Gabriel Osorio Vargas
Prologue – Imogen Sutton and Richard Williams
Sanjay’s Super Team – Nicole Paradis Grindle and Sanjay Patel
We Can’t Live Without Cosmos – Konstantin Bronzit
World of Tomorrow – Don Hertzfeldt

Best Original Score

Bridge of Spies – Thomas Newman
Carol – Carter Burwell
Sicario – Jóhann Jóhannsson
The Hateful Eight – Ennio Morricone
Star Wars: The Force Awakens – John Williams

Best Original Song

“Writing’s on the Wall” from Spectre – Music and Lyric by Jimmy Napes and Sam Smith
“Earned It” from Fifty Shades of Grey – Music and Lyric by Ahamad Balshe (Belly), Stephan Moccio, Jason “Daheala” Quenneville, Abel Tesfaye (The Weeknd)
“Manta Ray” from Racing Extinction – Music by J. Ralph, Lyric by Anohni
“Simple Song #3” from Youth – Music and Lyric by David Lang
“Til It Happens to You” from The Hunting Ground – Music and Lyric by Lady Gaga and Diane Warren

Best Sound Editing

The Martian – Oliver Tarney
Mad Max: Fury Road – Mark A. Mangini and David White
The Revenant – Martin Hernández and Lon Bender
Sicario – Alan Robert Murray
Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Matthew Wood and David Acord

Best Sound Mixing

Mad Max: Fury Road – Chris Jenkins, Gregg Rudloff, and Ben Osmo
Bridge of Spies – Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom, and Drew Kunin
The Martian – Paul Massey, Mark Taylor, and Mac Ruth
The Revenant – Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño, Randy Thom, and Chris Duesterdiek
Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio, and Stuart Wilson

Best Production Design

Bridge of Spies – Rena DeAngelo, Bernhard Henrich, and Adam Stockhausen
The Danish Girl – Michael Standish and Eve Stewart
Mad Max: Fury Road – Colin Gibson and Lisa Thompson
The Martian – Celia Bobak and Arthur Max
The Revenant – Jack Fisk and Hamish Purdy

Best Cinematography

The Revenant – Emmanuel Lubezki
Carol – Ed Lachman
The Hateful Eight – Robert Richardson
Mad Max: Fury Road – John Seale
Sicario – Roger Deakins

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared – Love Larson and Eva von Bahr
Mad Max: Fury Road – Lesley Vanderwalt, Elka Wardega, and Damian Martin
The Revenant – Siân Grigg, Duncan Jarman, and Robert Pandini

Best Costume Design

Mad Max: Fury Road – Jenny Beavan
Carol – Sandy Powell
Cinderella – Sandy Powell
The Danish Girl – Paco Delgado
The Revenant – Jacqueline West

Best Film Editing

The Big Short – Hank Corwin
The Revenant – Stephen Mirrione
Spotlight – Tom McArdle
Mad Max: Fury Road – Margaret Sixel
Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Maryann Brandon and Mary Jo Markey

Best Visual Effects

Mad Max: Fury Road – Andrew Jackson, Dan Oliver, Andy Williams, and Tom Wood
The Martian – Anders Langlands, Chris Lawrence, Richard Stammers, and Steven Warner
The Revenant – Richard McBride, Matt Shumway, Jason Smith, and Cameron Waldbauer
Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Chris Corbould, Roger Guyett, Paul Kavanagh, and Neal Scanlan
Ex Machina – Mark Williams Ardington, Sara Bennett, Paul Norris, and Andrew Whitehurst

Academy Honorary Awards

Spike Lee
Gena Rowlands

Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Awards
Debbie Reynolds


The Revenant – Nominated for 12, Won 3
Mad Max: Fury Road – Nominated for 10, Won 6
The Martian – Nominated for 7
Bridge of Spies – Nominated for 6, Won 1
Carol – Nominated for 6
Spotlight – Nominated for 6, Won 2
The Big Short – Nominated for 5, Won 1
Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Nominated for 5
The Danish Girl – Nominated for 4, Won 1
Room – Nominated for 4, Won 1
Brooklyn – Nominated for 3
The Hateful Eight – Nominated for 3, Won 1
Sicario – Nominated for 3
Ex Machina – Nominated for 2, Won 1
Inside Out – Nominated for 2, Won 1
Steve Jobs – Nominated for 2